How To Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Arkansas

Apply For Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card Online

What is an MMJ Card in Arkansas?

A medical marijuana card (MMJ card) in Arkansas is an identification card issued by a state-appointed agency permitting a qualified patient to purchase and use medicinal cannabis. It is also given to patients' designated caregivers to enable them to buy medicinal cannabis on their patient's behalf. While some states allow MMJ cardholders to cultivate marijuana for medical purposes, Arkansas does not.

The joint report published by the Arkansas Department of Health and the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration (DFA) showed that 86,380 qualifying patients applied for medical marijuana identification cards in Arkansas in FY 2022. During that fiscal year, 50,228 MMJ card renewal applications were filed by registered patients

Who Can Apply for an MMJ Card in Arkansas?

In addition to suffering from qualifying medical conditions, a person must meet the following criteria to be able to apply for a medical marijuana card in Arkansas:

  • Be a resident of Arkansas with evidence of residency
  • Be at least 18 years of age. A patient who is a minor can apply, but their parent or guardian needs to apply as a caregiver
  • Be certified okay for medical marijuana use by an Arkansas-licensed physician

Arkansas law prohibits members of the United States Military and the state's National Guard from acquiring a medical marijuana identification card. Hence, they are not qualified to apply.

Can a Minor Obtain a Medical Marijuana Card in Arkansas?

Yes. A patient who is a minor can obtain a medical marijuana card in Arkansas, but their parent or guardian must sign the patient's medical marijuana application form. The parent or guardian must also apply as the minor patient's caregiver. Additionally, a physician must review the patient's medical marijuana ID application form with the minor's parent or guardian before submission for processing.

What Conditions Qualify for Medical Marijuana Cards in Arkansas in 2024?

A qualifying patient 18 years or older or a minor whose parent or guardian can serve as their primary caregiver must suffer from certain medical conditions to qualify for medical marijuana cards in Arkansas. According to the state’s Department of Health, medical conditions that qualify a person for Arkansas medical marijuana card, otherwise known as a registry identification card, include:

  • Glaucoma
  • Severe arthritis
  • Cancer
  • Severe nausea
  • Crohn's disease
  • Alzheimer's disease
  • Hepatitis C
  • Seizures, including those typical of epilepsy
  • Tourette's syndrome
  • Fibromyalgia
  • Peripheral neuropathy
  • Pain that fails to respond to ordinary treatment, surgical measures, or medications for over six months
  • Ulcerative colitis
  • Severe and persistent muscle spasms (including those that come with multiple sclerosis)
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
  • Cachexia (wasting syndrome)
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)

How Do I Apply for an MMJ Card in Arkansas in 2024?

Qualifying patients in Arkansas can apply for the state's medical marijuana identification cards (registry identification cards) in the following ways:

  • Mail application
  • Online Application

Steps To Get Arkansas Marijuana Registry Identification Cards By Mail

Documents/information required for medical marijuana card mail application in Arkansas include completed application forms, a copy of the applicant's valid government-issued ID, and a $50 money order or check (non-refundable). Take the following steps to apply for a medical marijuana card by mail:

  • Download and print out the application forms (if filling them out by hand). The Patient Application Package Form contains the Medical Marijuana Registry Patient Application Form (Page 2) and the Medical Marijuana Physician's Written Certification Form (Page 3)
  • Complete the printed patient application form and make sure to provide accurate information. An applicant may complete the application form using a free computer program such as Adobe Fill & Sign. In that case, the applicant will print the form out after filling it out
  • Get an Arkansas-licensed medical or osteopathic physician to complete the physician's written certification form
  • Put all completed forms, copy of ID, and the $50 money order or check (do not mail cash) in an envelope and send it to the Arkansas Department of Health (ADH) by mail to:

Arkansas Department of Health

4815 West Markham, Slot 50

Little Rock, AR 72205

Applicants having issues completing mail-in applications can contact the ADH between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Mondays through Fridays, at (501) 682-498 or toll-free at 1 (833) 214-8619 for over-the-phone assistance. A typical MMJ card mail application in Arkansas takes about 14 business days from the day the ADH receives it to process.

How Does a Primary Caregiver Get an Arkansas MMIC?

A primary caregiver in Arkansas is someone who is designated to purchase medical marijuana on behalf of a qualifying patient who is a minor or a physically disabled person. The best way to get a primary caregiver medical marijuana card in Arkansas is to apply online using the Arkansas Medical Marijuana System. To apply for a caregiver medical marijuana identification card (MMIC) in Arkansas, a person must satisfy the following requirements:

  • The qualifying patient for whom they want to provide care must have a valid medical marijuana card
  • Be at least 21 years old
  • Be a resident of Arkansas (must present residency proof)
  • Undergo a criminal background check; the check must show no convictions of excluded felony offenses (not required if the would-be caregiver is the parent of a qualifying patient who is a minor)

If applying for an Arkansas primary caregiver medical marijuana identification card by mail, the applicant must complete the Medical Marijuana Registry Caregiver Application Form. The card application fee, $50, which may be paid by check or money order, is non-refundable. The applicant should package the completed form, payment proof, and other required documents in an envelope and mail it to the Arkansas Department of Health at:

Arkansas Department of Health

4815 West Markham, Slot 50

Little Rock, AR 72205

How long does it take to get an Arkansas MMIC?

Processing time for an Arkansas medical marijuana identification card (MMIC) may take up to 14 working days from the day the Department of Health (ADH) receives the application, including payment. Once the application is processed and the card is issued, the ADH will deliver the MMIC by mail through the post office.

Getting an Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card Online

Although applications can be sent via mail, getting an Arkansas medical marijuana card by applying online is often recommended. While the online application process is straightforward, the following outlines the steps involved:

  • Have the following documents/information handy:
  • A valid government-issued ID
  • Social Security Number (the last four digits)
  • Completed physician written certificate form
  • A valid credit or debit card (the ADH does not accept American Express)
  • Personal details
  • Browse the Arkansas Medical Marijuana System and select "Patient Registration" to create an account
  • After registration, the applicant will get an email asking them to confirm registration. Click the link in the email to confirm registration
  • The confirmation link should take the applicant to their personal page, which will include two drop-down menus ("Applications" and "Account"). Select the Applications tab and then select "Arkansas Patient Application" if applying as a qualifying patient. Otherwise, select "Caregiver" if applying as a primary caregiver
  • Complete the needed information and upload the required documents
  • Submit the online application form after providing relevant information and uploading the necessary document. The page that shows up after an application submission will provide instructions on how to pay the $50 application fee
  • The Arkansas Medical Marijuana System permits applicants to save their application progress and submit it when they have provided the needed documents and details. A typical Arkansas MMIC online application takes about 14 days after the ADH accepts the forms. While the physical MMIC will arrive in the mail within two weeks after the ADH's approval, an applicant can print out the digital copy if needed before the physical card's arrival

How Much Does a Medical Marijuana Card Cost in Arkansas?

The current cost of medical marijuana identification cards (MMIC) in Arkansas is $50 for a patient's MMIC, caregiver's MMIC, and a visiting patient's card. All fees are non-refundable and payable to the Arkansas Department of Health by money order, check, or debit/credit card (no American Express). A visiting patient's card is valid for 90 days, while the others are valid for one year and must be renewed annually.

What Documents Do I Need to Apply for a Medical Cannabis Card in Arkansas?

The primary documents required to apply for a medical cannabis card in Arkansas are:

  • Completed application forms (depending on who is applying)
  • Legal proof of residency in Arkansas, such as an Arkansas driver's license or any other Arkansas state ID card)
  • A valid government-issued identification card

What Information appears on an Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card?

The following is a list of some of the information found on an Arkansas medical marijuana card:

  • Cardholder's name
  • Cardholder's address
  • Cardholder's photo
  • Customer ID
  • Date of birth
  • Sex
  • Issue date
  • Expiry date
  • Height
  • Race
  • "Not for federal identification" statement

Can Someone Track me Down through the Arkansas Registry?

No one can track a medical marijuana patient down through the Arkansas Registry. The medical marijuana unit of the Arkansas Department of Health protects the confidentiality of patients' information and records in its custody in compliance with all applicable federal laws. Such information and records are exempt from the Arkansas Freedom of Information Act and may not be disclosed to the public.

In this section:
Medical Marijuana Card in Arkansas.png